Why I became a stay at home wife

Hey there! Seeing as this is my very first post ever I should probably give myself a proper introduction. I’m Meg, I’m a 22 year old newlywed and I’ve very recently become a housewife. I feel like some people will think that I’m way too young to be a housewife, or even to be married at all. I get it, its certainly not the most common thing anymore, and its not a path I always saw for myself. But, in the short amount of time since I’ve made this life change, I have to say I feel now that I have more purpose than I ever have.

A little background on me… I worked for years as a Beauty Advisor and as a retail and freelance Makeup Artist. I worked for a few of the big name brands and in the beginning you couldn’t drag me away from my work. I loved every part of my job and savored each minute of my workday. However, life being ever-changing as it is, a series of events occurred to where I wasn’t waking up every morning excited for work as I had before. There was no disaster that took place, no big event that forever soured my feelings about my career. I just kind of lost my passion for it. And don’t get me wrong, it was an incredible experience. I was lucky to have a job that challenged and excited me. I was able to work with amazing clients, each one brought with her a different story, something unique and beautiful that only she possessed. And the group of women I worked with, many of them I consider to be like a second family to me, inspired me everyday. They weren’t just my coworkers, they were incredible mentors and friends.

My life has changed dramatically in 2017. I moved 1,000 miles from home in January, got married in February and made the long-debated decision with my husband to stay home in March. I welcome the change and challenge that has come in these last few months, its definitely a learning process for me and I hope some of you out there are on the same journey as me and we can help each other along in the tougher times! Deciding to become a stay at home wife was definitely not easy. It’s something that my husband and I discussed for months, and when it finally came time, it felt very alien to me. Being someone who’s worked since she was 16 years old, it was a very strange feeling to quit my job without having another lined up, or any intention of looking for one. I’m extremely lucky to have a husband who supports me in anything I want to and believes in my wholeheartedly. We’re high school sweethearts and have been together for almost 6 years. The decision for me to stay home essentially came down to what would make us the happiest, and I am so happy!

This blog will include updates on my life at home, adventures in my new city, all things beauty, and maybe even some wedding tidbits, seeing as I’m fresh off the wedding boat! I hope to see you around!

Leave a Reply

